The land around the Kochel Lake, the moor, the mountains, the lakes. Franz Marc and his artist colleagues Gabriele Münter - and Wassily Kandinsky found inspiration in the area. Those now world-famous artists, who co-founded the "Blaue Reiter" artist group, spent many years in Kochel am See, Murnau and Sindelsdorf.
Franz Marc felt at home here, and this is where he created most of his works and also received important impulses for his special understanding of art. The Loisach moor between Kochel and Murnau was the incubator of Munich Modernism, which formed around Franz Marc, Gabriele Münter and Wassily Kandinsky.
"Kochel Lake by boat", "Waterfall at the Kochel" for example, are some titles of Kandinsky's landscape studies, and Gabriele Münter painted "Grave crosses in Kochel" in the cemetery, where Franz Marc was laid to rest years later.
Visit the Blaue Land between Kochel and Murnau and experience the domains of these well-known artists. Let the same impressions come to you as came to Franz Marc and his friends. Hike through the Loisach valley on the trail of the “Blaue Reiter” and discover it for yourself.
FRANZ MARC MUSEUM IN KOCHEL
The Franz Marc Museum in Kochel am See has been dedicated to the work of Franz Marc since it was established in 1986. The extension opened in 2008 offers new possibilities for the museum concept.
In the modern exhibition building, which expands the old building with an exhibition area of 700 m2, the work of Franz Marc can be put into a new context. His oeuvre, represented beforehand solely by the collection of the Franz Marc Foundation, can be contrasted with the work of his contemporaries like the “Brücke” artists thanks to the addition of the collection of the Etta and Otto Stangl Foundation. In dialogue with works of German post-war abstraction, Franz Marc can also be appreciated in terms of his effect on the art of the second half of the 20th century.
Public tour: every sunday at 14:00, April till October as well on saturday at 14:00
TIP: You can reach the museum by foot from the hotel in around 10 minutes.
The Schlossmuseum Murnau shows a wide collection of paintings, drawings and and graphic reproductions from Gabriele Münter and artwork from the "Neue Künstlervereinigung München" and the "Blaue Reiter" (e.g. Wassily Kandinsky, Marianne von Werefkin, Alexej Jawlensky, Franz Marc, Heinrich Campendonk)
They designed the garden together. They painted the furniture guided only by their artistic sensibilities. Over many years, Gabriele Münter and Wassily Kandinsky spent the summer months in the house located in the Kottmüllerallee in Murnau a. Staffelsee. Entering it today, it almost feels as if they were here, about to paint a table or even the banisters.
It was on 21 August 1909, that Gabriele Münter bought the little property. One glance out of the window towards the church and the castle, and she had found the motifs for her Expressionist works. Locals also commonly referred to the small country dwelling as the "Russian House". For this was a place where Kandinsky's Russian artist friends came and went, Alexej Jawlensky among them.
The Münter Haus was the inspiration and starting point for a new artistic movement – Expressionism. It was a meeting point for the avant-garde and a haven for artists: Franz Marc, Alexej Jawlensky, Marianne von Werefkin, August Macke and Arnold Schönberg were regular visitors, as were collectors and gallery owners. "The Blue Rider" almanac is likewise said to have been created here.
In 16 different rooms you find a lot exhibits of the Walchensee, Kochelsee, Jachenau, Kesselberg and Herzogstand. As well a lot of paintings and drawings of the famous artist Prof. Lovis Corinth who lived between 1918 and 1925 in a villa in Walchensee.
A different exhibition is dedicated to the famous nuclear physicist and Nobel price winner Werner Karl Heisenberg, who bought the house of Lovis Corinth in 1939.
This art collection is focused on Heinrich Campendonk (1889-1957). He was the youngest member of the expressionistic BLUE RIDER group. In this museum you find with around 200 pieces the world largest collection of his art works.
The Glentleiten Open Air Museum is the largest of its kind in Southern Bavaria. It provides detailed insight into the everyday life of the people of Upper Bavaria, their construction and building culture and their working environment.
More than 60 original buildings have been conserved and translocated together with their equipment to be restored in the midst of a landscape cultivated to conform to historic patterns.
On the widely spread terrain of the museum you will find a variety of gardens, forests and meadows with ancient animal species, with spectacular views of the mountains and lakes of Upper Bavaria to be expected everywhere.
The founding of the Monastery goes back to 739 and was assisted by St. Bonifatius. It is one of the oldest Benedictine Monasteries in Bavaria. After being destroyed by the Hungarians in 955 it was rebuilt with the support of St. Ulrich of Augsburg. In 1031 the Estate was once again colonized by the Benedictines from Tegernsee.
The Monastery went through an extended period of prosperity and wealth. Education, arts, science and the cultivation of crops was developed. At 1250 the Monastery’s library counted about 250 handwritten documents. The most famous one was the “Carmina Burana”. Where this significant collection of secular and sacred songs from medieval times was written and how it was brought to the Monastery, has not been discovered yet. “Carmina Burana” became known all over the world as Carl Orff set it to music in 1937.
Nowadays there is a university located in the Monastery where students can take a social work degree.
The “Centre for Environment and Culture” was established in the former “Maierhof” and is the Congregation’s contribution to the christians’ responsibility for creation. Nature protection, education districts with nature trails and biotopes, meditation- and herb garden as well as guided excursions offer first hand experiences to visitors. Educational training and seminars impart values and ecological learning to guests.
The Geigenbaumuseum (Violin Making Museum) was founded in 1930 and has been housed in one of the oldest and most beautiful buildings in Mittenwald since 1960. The displays highlight the craft of violin making and its development over more than three-hundred years, as well as its links with the history of the local community.
The emphasis in the extensive collection of high-quality instruments is on Mittenwald violins made in the Baroque period. The 19th and 20th centuries, as well as present-day workshops, are also covered. Samples to listen to and even smell, historical films on violin making, a reconstruction of a period workshop and temporary exhibitions make every visit a fascinating and varied experience.